Tags

, , ,

Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” (Isaiah30:21)

Sometimes last week, I needed to buy a bible. Being in a new city, I had to search the internet both for the book store that would be likely to stock such, and for the directions.

Though it was a distance I decided to use a bicycle which I figured would serve the dual purpose of site seeing and physical exercise. Fortunately for me, the routes in the city are very well captured in Google maps.

At first I could look at the map and then check again at the next turning to confirm I was still on track. With time however, I realized that the audio directions were also working – you know the lady that says, “in 600 meters turn right”?

After increasing the volume on my phone, I put it in my pocket and continued cycling. Every some distance from a turning, Google would faithfully say, “in 500 meters turn left on such street.”

When there was a long stretch, Google would tell me, “continue for 1 km on such street”, to reassure me that I am still on track.

It was not all smooth however as there were a couple of times I either took a turn too soon, or went past the turn. At one point I lost the GPS signal and another time Google told me to make a ‘U’ turn.

Earlier in the day, I had read Isaiah 30:21. It later occurred to me how my riding experience had parallels with the message of the verse.

A coincidence?

I do not think so. I believe the Lord was communicating to me that He leads those that wait on Him. The learning for me was that it was not about making all the right turns, but rather being attentive at all times (even when there are detours ) and trusting the voice to direct every step to the final destination.

One more thing I observed is that the more I rode in response to the instruction I was hearing, the more confident I became in trusting the voice. This brings Heb 5:14 to mind, “….who by constant use have trained their senses to distinguish good from evil. “ There is a sharpness of hearing God’s voice that comes with exercising the spiritual senses and obeying the voice of our Shepherd.

Beloved of God, you will make many turns in your life journey. Whether to the right or to the left, wait on Him, and you shall hear His voice directing you.

Wait on the Lord!

18Therefore the Lord waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you.

For the Lord is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him.” (Isaiah 30) (emphasis are mine)

It is my hope this has encouraged someone!