Tags

, , ,

“11 (for the children not yet being born, nor having done any good or evil, that the purpose of God according to election might stand, not of works but of Him who calls), 12 it was said to her, “The older shall serve the younger.”” Rom 9.

When we are introduced into how this world works as little children, we grow up knowing that as the path to fulfillment; get good education, get a means of livelihood, start and raise a family, and then the cycle is repeated by the next generation.

Somewhere along the way, we encounter the Lord Jesus and a new worldview is introduced. “31 “So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’ 32 These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. 33 Seek the Kingdom of God[e] above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need. (Matt 6.)”.

There is a danger that lies in not apprehending the fullness of the implications of the new life, the new paradigm, and this is the danger; taking the new life as a support for the natural pursuits.  How is this expressed? In our prayers, we’ll be found asking the Lord to bless our pursuits as if that is the reason we believed in Him, to give us success in the world.

The new paradigm requires that the nourishment and growth of the new man of the spirit in Christ becomes the new pursuit while everything else serves that pursuit. For example in my current circumstance, I trusted God for a job and He gave me one, but I have found challenges during the time that have pushed me to almost quit. Lately however, I have thought that sometimes I get this thing the reverse way i.e. the pursuit of the Lord serving my natural circumstances, while it ought to be the other way round.

I believe the right way is God using my natural circumstances to serve His spiritual end which is conformity to the image of His Son. “28 And we know that God causes everything to work together[m] for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.(Rom 8)

God’s end in His dealings with us is our conformity to the image of His Son. This process takes the form of our daily circumstances, be they good, not so good, or bad to our natural man and our response to the circumstances.

Are we going to respond carnally or is our response informed by the ever willing and present guide, the indwelling Holy Spirit? More than once He’s stopped me in the middle of  ‘standing for my rights’, or ‘giving a piece of my mind’ in an unfair situation. I believe part of the reason God allows us to go through sometimes very trying situations is to bring us to a place of total dependence on Him.

Blessings to all that wait on Him.

