promised_land

“That ye be not slothful, but followers of them who through faith and patience inherit the promises.” (Heb 6:12)

Of all the types in the old testament, the one I have found most compelling is the story of Abraham and the promise of God to him, and how that plays out down the generations. I particularlly find the journey of Abraham’s descendants from Egypy to Canaan, the promised land quite intriguing.

The bible in a number of places describes the land of promise as one flowing with milk and honey, indicating a land of plenty and abundant supply.

“And I have said, I will bring you up out of the affliction of Egypt unto the land of the Canaanites, and the Hittites, and the Amorites, and the Perizzites, and the Hivites, and the Jebusites, unto a land flowing with milk and honey.” (Exodus 3:17)

The promised land for the natural descendants of Abraham was a place locatable even today on the map of the earth, but what is the promised land for the spiritual children, heirs of the promise according to the new covenant?

This may be elementary stuff to some, but it has been a source of immense freedom, the understanding that the land of promise for the followers of Jesus is of a spiritual nature, not a flesh and blood or natural one.

For many years, I was taught , and believed that the land of promise is the place of life fulfillment in a natural sense, like the good life (power, wealth, and health…). That persuasion caused me to be on an unending quest for the ‘good ‘life, comforts of this life, until a different kind of land was shown to me;

“9 By faith he sojourned in the land of promise, as in a strange country, dwelling in tabernacles with Isaac and Jacob, the heirs with him of the same promise:
10 For he looked for a city which hath foundations, whose builder and maker is God.” (Heb 11)

Abraham was already in the land promised by God, but he did not settle, because he knew that the promise pointed to something greater,

“40 God having provided some better thing for us, that they without us should not be made perfect.” (Heb 11)

Words simply fail me to describe what I have lately have had my eyes opened to concerning what the promised land is. I am persuaded that the promised land for the saint is Christ, the reason why He’d say,

“4 Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me.

5 I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.” (Jn 15).

Christ is our dwelling place, and outside of Him, we can do nothing.

My prayer for all saints is that our eyes be opened to our promised land, a land filled with milk and honey. May we ever find strength to keep moving forward, and like our father, Abraham not settle for the type, but keep our vision of the real deal ever alive. He who has called us is faithful, He will not only get us there, but also keep us.

Love in the promised land,
Patrick

