Tags

, , , ,

20151110_132701Not by might, nor by power, but by my spirit, saith the Lord “ (Zech 4:6)

Sometime last month, I had the privilege of meeting with a man I have known since my teenage, an opportunity I’ve not had for over twenty years. He is popularly referred to as ‘muhunjia’, my vernacular name for preacher. This is a man I knew for proclaiming the gospel in the highways and byways. I remember him for proclaiming Jesus in our village fearlessly in spite of being despised and looked down upon by the more established mainstream churches in the day.

During our conversation, there was lots of catching up in which I did most of the listening. Among the many things we shared, one has particularly stuck with me and it was, “Even with my many years of preaching, I cannot just wake up and go preach, I have to hear the word of the Lord not just for the day but on a moment by moment basis.” Wow, now that sounded like,

“..the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does…” (John 5:19)

“..Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God…” (Matt 4:4)

What a freeing way to live? May we all – the sheep of His pasture hear and follow the voice of the Shepherd, and that alone.

Love in Him,
Patrick

