Tags

, ,

50kphDriving down Langata road recently I thought I would try abiding by the speed limits (50 kph). I had not before realized how far above the limit I had been driving and it took my resolve to keep the speedometer at most the allowed 50kph to notice.

It felt painfully slow not to mention the feelings of being left by everyone else as every vehicle, including trucks zoomed past us, some as if we were stationery.

As I struggled with the almost unbearable urge to push the accelerator peddle harder, I started reflecting on how this scenario shadowed our walk with the Lord.

One of the things I have found from experience most difficult in the Christian walk is waiting on the Lord.

On the one hand, The Lord has a path set out for us that each of us ought to discover and walk in. On the other hand, there is our ambition and preconceived idea of how that path and outcome should be, not to mention our innate desire to make something out of our lives. The difficulty is not in accepting to do His will, but in yielding to His pace and way of working out His plan through each of our individual lives.

There is a way He seems slower than we’d want especially when there are others all around us who seem to be making visible progress ahead of us.

Fortunately for us, our progress with the Lord, is more organic than mechanical. It has to go according to the growth of His Life within us, and cannot be accelerated by the simple stepping on a peddle.

Psalm 130:5
I wait for the Lord, my soul doth wait, and in his word do I hope.

Psalm 130:6
My soul waiteth for the Lord more than they that watch for the morning: I say, more than they that watch for the morning.

How I pray that we would all learn to wait on the Lord..

Love,
Patrick

