Tags

, , ,

no preaching
“Fifty bob, fifty bob, bei imeteremka na mafuta (fares have dropped with the price of fuel)”, goes the voice of the bus conductor just behind Kencom house where some buses stop to wait for passengers.

I have one more thing to do in town, but considering how far Nanak house is and what it’d take to walk there in the hot sun, I decide that what is pending can be done later, possibly even through a phone call. On the other hand, the offer from the conductor, is too good to pass considering that the last time I used the route, I was in the vehicle for not less than two hours and had to pay 80 shillings having boarded at around 5 o’clock, the peak time for Nairobi traffic. I hop into the Kenya Bus that feels like an oven under the February sun, not to mention that many windows are not opening to allow some breeze. I am among the first to enter, but it does not take too long to fill up , thanks to the marketing skills of the conductor.

There is a bit of traffic as we leave, but nothing compared to the gridlock normally experienced during evening rush hour. After the bus negotiates the corner at the Stanley Hotel to join Kenyatta avenue, a very interesting gentleman enters the bus . He’s holding a bunch of DVDs on the left hand and the right hand is free to support him by holding the bus rails. He’s Caucasian, and greets the people in the bus in Swahili with an accent that sounded American before going on with what sounded like a memorized script;

“I am a freelance missionary and am not here to promote any church or organization. I am here to give information on what some prophesies in the bible, Rev 13 means. The time is coming and is here with us where the mark of the beast 666 will be required on anyone to be able buy or sell anything. One might wonder what that has to do with us, but this will make you understand that there are already some developments that are going to lead us there shortly. You hear of Mpesa, Pesapal and all these mobile money transfers and you may not realize that what is next is the chip planted on your wrist or forehead. All you’ll need to do is swipe your wrist and ‘peep’, money is transferred from your account instantly. I am giving these DVDs for your information and understanding and you can have a look. Not for sale, but you can give whatever you have to help cover production costs. Just like ‘sadaka’(offering). ” (not verbatim)

There was quite some interest in the bus and several people picked the DVD and maybe gave the offering – I am not sure. The whole presentation took a maximum of 5 minutes and the missionary alighted in the next traffic lights stop. That having happened, I was left thinking about eschatology (the end times and rapture stuff) and whether there are better ways to prepare for the end times than interpreting the times from from current happenings.

I am not normally very keen on eschatology and this having come about by my finding it depressing to think how I can survive not getting the mark (in case 666 came when I am still here) and still be able to participate in the day to day life. I found out that seeking to understand the end times by interpreting the events of the day is somehow counterproductive because it had a tendency of making me demonize some things (poor our precious Mpesa innovation) which I believe may not be evil in themselves. On the other hand, I realized it was not helping me know the Lord as one who loves me and has paid the cost for my victory in this fallen world. Instead, it would make me feel more like a helpless victim simply by being born at this time in history.

I may not be able to make in-depth critique of the message in the DVD since I have not gotten the chance of watching, but have one thought. It is my persuasion that such zeal and investments (traveling all the way to Nairobi) would be better utilized in making Jesus Christ known for “they that know their God shall be strong and do great exploits.”

Much of our focus on world events and dispensations, has a tendency to defocus us from the only hope for mankind, and indeed all creation;

“Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith
…”(Heb 12:2).

“24 O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death?

25 I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. … (Rom 7)…”

“…one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her.(Lk 10:42)
…”

9 There remains therefore a rest for the people of God…11 Let us therefore be diligent to enter that rest,(Heb 4)…”

Further, I believe that knowing the Lord deals with many questions that we may have about world events. Observing the way God dealt with many individuals in the Bible and even in our day, you’ll notice that as the relationship develops, He would reveal more of Himself and plans according to His purpose. This happens inward outward and not the other way round.

Beloved, let us give our lives to knowing Him and we will watch world events unfold before us from the vantage point of rest, In Christ.

Love,
Patrick

