Tags

, ,

CenterDear Reader,

I have not published a post here for almost a month now. It’s not lack of stuff to write about really – as a matter of fact there are a couple of unpublished drafts and I think its something of a different nature. I thought that I’d share a little of what has been happening behind the scenes. I’ve been going through a season I refer to a ‘crisis of center’, which I’ll shortly explain.

The discovery of the different aspects of the universe is progressive, and hence one thing that is believed to be a fact today, may be proved not so accurate tomorrow after some more accurate perspective has been established. This was the case once when the earth was thought to be the center of the solar system , and that the sun revolves around the earth. When it was discovered that the sun is the actual center, those that were spearheading this perspective were thought to be out of their mind for being blind to the obvious. “Does it take a genius to just observe the sun every morning rising from the eastern horizon and moving across the sky and eventually setting in the western horizon in the evening to appreciate that the sun revolves around the earth?”.

Similarly, many including myself begin their Christian walk believing that the purposes of God revolves around man’s needs. This perspective is enhanced by how the effects of sin (read suffering) are so much in our faces especially the days we live in where evil has increased many fold. With reports of war, calamities, decease, poverty, depraved morals, terrorism, etc, one would be excused to believe that God’s involvement in the affairs of men centers around rescuing them from this fallen world. This perspective does go on until one asks the question, “what if there was no fall?”.

Why am I sharing all this? I am sharing this to try and make some sense with the nature of the crisis I find myself in with ‘life beyond the walls’. At the heart of the blog site, there’s a desire to make sense of the challenges of life and in the process hopefully help others struggling with answers to life’s questions. Now having taken the way of God, the author of life as the source of all legitimate answers, the challenge that is next faced is do we center our approach on the needs of man or do we center our approach on God’s ‘need’ / intent?

I have indicative leads through some scriptures:

But when His disciples saw it, they were indignant, saying, Why this waste?” Matt 26:8

The disciples seeing the expensive ointment spent on anointing Jesus thought it wasteful and perhaps the oil would have been better used to raise money to help the poor. Jesus in answer to them said:

“…Why are you bothering this woman? She has done a beautiful thing to me. 11 The poor you will always have with you,[a] but you will not always have me.”

To a mind or heart centered on man’s needs, this will look like an insensitive response, but to a God centered heart, the needs of man are met as a byproduct of prioritizing the thing that God prioritizes:

…But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you..” Matt 6:33

“…But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken away from her…” Luke 10:42

I am persuaded that if we take the answer God has given to life’s questions, His Son, Jesus Christ, every other thing will fall into perspective as,

“15 He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. 16 For by Him all things were created that are in heaven and that are on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or principalities or powers. All things were created through Him and for Him. 17 And He is before all things, and in Him all things consist. ” Col 1.

I’ll sign out with this evaluation from a church leader:

“…Let no one imagine I am critical; I am grieved and yearning that our people shall be awakened to true God-centerdness. … And though I be misunderstood by my brethren by unveiling weaknesses I must insist there is nothing more spiritually dead than a church which has sought power without purity; service without sacrifice, exercise of gifts without in-wrought spiritual graces and a ministry of life without a ‘working of death.’….”

I am not yet sure what direction this blog will take from this point, but there’s a definite new phase unveiling – we’ll see how that unfolds.

Please pray for me.

In Him,
Patrick

