Tags

, , , ,

Lion KingOne afternoon a fortnight or so ago, I found myself in the children’s section of the local library. It is not my regular place, as a matter of fact that was my first time there and it felt a little awkward, but there I was. I had thought of carrying my own book to go and read as I waited for the young scholars to do their selection, but never got to actually doing it. They anyhow could not allow me as they expected me to assist them and also answer their never ending questions.

It was while there that I noticed a book on the table and picked it up to peruse. It was about king of the jungle, the lion. I thought I’d just peruse, but the way the story was building up, I ended up reading the whole book.

The story in the book was about this lion that noticed one day that a storm was building up in the horizon. He thought it wise to prepare a place to shelter from the inevitable downpour.

Being a king, he went to instruct his subjects to build him a house to shelter himself. He first approached the termites, who were very eager to build him a place they best knew how. The termites build their king a place, but it was one, way too small for the lion, and two, a little too dark underground and soggy for a lion’s liking.

That didn’t work and the king went next to the weaver bird. The weaver bird , a skilled weaver made the king a nice nest hanging on the tree, but also too small and could not hold the weighty lion.

The lion went next to the crocodile who got him a nice cave at a spot by the river bank. As eager as the lion was to get some shelter from now almost pouring rain, he could not reconcile himself at sheltering from rain in the river. This went on for a couple of other animals with the same outcome.

By this time, the rain was starting with small drops and threatening a downpour any moment. Time was running out for the lion and every other animal was now thinking about its own shelter.

Even as the other animals were thinking of their own shelter, enough interest had built on the fate of the lion and were all upon entering their shelter peeping with curiosity to see what happened to their king.

By the time the rain started in torrents, the lion was the only animal being rained on at full view of every other animal in the safety of their sheltered homes.

Apart from the innocence with which children stories are told and shear curiosity where the story was heading, one more thing kept me reading to the end; I do not know the author or whether he was actually intending to paint a picture of a reality of another Lion, another King , but the story paralleled in more than one way the story of Jesus Christ, the messiah. It is written of Him that;

“…, The foxes have holes, and the birds of the air have nests; but the Son of man hath not where to lay his head.” (Matt 8:20)

He came unto his own, and his own received him not.” (John 1:11)

Another side of the story begs for an answer to the question, “Why could the king not find a suitable shelter from his subjects?” It is because;

48 …., the Most High doesn’t live in temples made by human hands. As the prophet says,

49 ‘Heaven is my throne,
and the earth is my footstool.
Could you build me a temple as good as that?’
asks the Lord.
‘Could you build me such a resting place?
50 Didn’t my hands make both heaven and earth?’
(Acts 7)

I believe the patriarch Abraham caught this vision when he was “confidently looking forward to a city with eternal foundations, a city designed and built by God” (Heb 11:10)(NLT)

That dwelling of the king is made with living stones, you and me;

“You are coming to Christ, who is the living cornerstone of God’s temple. He was rejected by people, but he was chosen by God for great honor.And you are living stones that God is building into his spiritual temple. What’s more, you are his holy priests. Through the mediation of Jesus Christ, you offer spiritual sacrifices that please God.” (1Peter 2:4-5) (NLT)

…a many member ed body, the Church, through whom He expresses Himself on the earth. Every of the stone for the Lord’s house is shaped for the building by His indwelling presence;

“Jesus replied, “All who love me will do what I say. My Father will love them, and we will come and make our home with each of them.” (John 14:23)(NLT)

“To them God chose to make known how great among the Gentiles are the riches of the glory of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.” (col 1:27)(KJV)

May each of our story be that the King will be welcome to make His home in us. Christy Nockels makes that prayer by song;

Love,
Patrick

