Tags

,

20140521_074608The term “tyranny of numbers” is a common phrase in reference to democracy where the majority in the political space can effect decisions even when they are tyrannical to the common good. The premise in democracy is that the majority cannot be wrong.

While politics is a hot topic in our society, my focus in this post is not politics, but rather in personal life where I see the same principle in operation.

The accumulation of decisions (big and small) that each of us makes in our lives shape the way our lives turn out. This being the case, it then underscores the importance of what informs our decisions and choices. Unfortunately, these decisions are more often than not informed by the popular culture or what is trending at the particular time.

This is not confined to any sphere of life, but rather applies to all areas. If one makes a choice that deviates from what is accepted as the norm, i.e. not with the majority, they are viewed with disdain and sometimes even considered proud. “Who do they think they are?” “They think they know so much?”.

The more I’ve thought about how easy it is to go with the crowd or majority even when my inner persuasion urges me otherwise, the more I’ve considered the possibility of a wider application of Jesus’ words;

…wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. 14 But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.” (Matt 7:13&14)

While this scripture has been used more, rightfully so, to distinguish the way that leads to hell from the one that leads to eternal life, I also think it applicable to our existence in the world.

Each of us has a unique life experience that can only be navigated by you. There are some general characteristics of the human experience, but when it comes to your path and journey in life, only you are ordained to walk that path. Even your twin sibling cannot walk the exact same path. This said, it’s good to note that this path was not created by us, but rather by the Author of life.

Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” (Jeremiah 1:5)

“Ephesians 2:10
For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.

We will rarely therefore have prior knowledge of our path apart from His illumination. You and I will therefore need to learn to depend on Him to help us navigate this path. He does not promise that it will be trouble free, but He does assure you of His presence and guidance;

“….though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.” Ps 23:4

I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you.” John 14:18

“….for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.” Heb 13:5

My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me:” John 10:27

Be not intimidated dear one, by the voice of the majority, when it speaks contrary to the one of your Shepherd. Trust in Him, by whom, through whom, and for whom all that is created was created, Christ Jesus. It is the Father’s good pleasure to give you the Kingdom.

Love,
PM

