Tags

, , , ,

RULES AND REGULATIONSupIf you have been out of the religious system of Christianity for any length of time, you know its effects take long to be dealt with than we sometimes want to admit.

My experience is that for a long time after you are physically outside the walls that define that system, you still find yourself asking, “..and what was that? and how come I didn’t see it?”

Some have referred to the process of dealing with these negative effects as ‘detoxing’. This refers to the removal of toxic elements from ones belief system.

As I have found myself lately comparing the life in the institutional system of religion and the life in Christ, I thought of the scripture in Luke 11:

21 When a strong man armed keepeth his palace, his goods are in peace: 22 But when a stronger than he shall come upon him, and overcome him, he taketh from him all his armour wherein he trusted, and divideth his spoils.23 He that is not with me is against me: and he that gathereth not with me scattereth.

24 When the unclean spirit is gone out of a man, he walketh through dry places, seeking rest; and finding none, he saith, I will return unto my house whence I came out.
25 And when he cometh, he findeth it swept and garnished.
26 Then goeth he, and taketh to him seven other spirits more wicked than himself; and they enter in, and dwell there: and the last state of that man is worse than the first.

27 And it came to pass, as he spake these things, a certain woman of the company lifted up her voice, and said unto him, Blessed is the womb that bare thee, and the paps which thou hast sucked.
28 But he said, Yea rather, blessed are they that hear the word of God, and keep it.

In the context of my current considerations, I see a parallel between the detoxing process and the dealings of the strong man by another stronger than he.

The belief system and hence way of life under the religious system can be paralleled with the evil spirit controlling the man. When ones eyes are opened to the liberty of the children of God that is in Christ, and stops being controlled by the system that previously had such a big hold on him/her, it’s like the unclean spirit going out of the man.

So then the detoxing is parallel to the sweeping and the garnishing of the house.

After that we see in the story that the spirit came to check their former habitation and finding it unoccupied sought to occupy it with others even stronger in their ways than he.

The only reason, ( at least seems to me) that the spirit got the idea of reoccupying the house is because it was unoccupied. That to me parallels with a person who has been freed from the legalistic system of dead religion in the institutional Christianity, is now free, but does not have a replacement for where the system occupied in their life.

The question to the one that has been freed then becomes, “now that I am not living by the system of rules and regulations, by what, or how ought I to live?“.

Lack of an answer to this question has been the cause, in my opinion for much frustration and and turmoil of a greater magnitude to many than when under the systems.

Detoxing or the wilderness is not a destination and therefore one cannot remain there. The blessing is not just in the removal of the toxins, not even in just receiving illumination, the word, but also in ‘keeping it‘.

I’ve witnessed and been part of discussions where the talk surrounds how bad the system is, but the question remains unanswered. I have sought to find an answer to that question, and I think a couple of scriptures can help answer it:

Romans 5:10
For if, when we were enemies, we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son, much more, being reconciled, we shall be saved by his life.

Galatians 2:20
20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

John 6:57
As the living Father hath sent me, and I live by the Father: so he that eateth me, even he shall live by me.

This to me points to the fact that when we are freed from living by rules and regulations, we ought to live by His life.

Where the toxins once lived, needs not be found unoccupied because the enemy will devise other replacements. We’ll find ourselves making rules of how to keep it clean, instead of opening the door for the new occupant. The house shall be occupied by He that paid such a big price, His life to secure it.

We are the dwelling place of God and He wants to manifest His Life in and through us. Illumination makes it possible to get hold of the substance. That substance is Christ.

Love,
PM

