bad hair dayMonday mornings are to many people not a time to look forward to. This is mainly because , especially for those that are engaged on weekdays from 8 to 5, it represents the day you have to go back to the regular routine, to most people a routine that is more a necessity than a choice. Monday is to many a complete contrast to the previous day, Sunday where the pace of things is relatively pretty more relaxed.

It is only on Monday morning you’ll look for something you need like work id/tag and not find it simply because as you were celebrating the start of another weekend on Friday, you just threw it to one corner as if you will never need it again.

I know I have stretched the Monday blues thing a little bit, but here is my point. There are days I find I am waking up exited to face, and others I want to cover my head in an attempt to have the sleep time go a little longer. This to me points at a reality of human experience that is difficult to ignore – that circumstances will sometimes be good and others not so good. There will be days when things are simply not working and others where they work even beyond our expectations.

My recent thoughts have been surrounding the question of whether it is possible to live consistently above the ever changing circumstances in ones environment. In my search for an answer, I have come to be convinced that there is only one solution to this – have our trust wholly in the One that never changes:

James 1:17
Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning….,

…And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose. (Rom 8:28)

Lynda Randle in this song drives the point home:

He is dependable.

PM

