If you have driven in Nairobi for any length of time, you’ll appreciate that it can sometimes be very stressful driving within the city especially during peak hours. As a motorist in Nairobi, I have devised ways of remaining sane in traffic.

One of the ways I have devised has been to not take anything the other motorists do personal. That way, I am able to be in the middle of a road hog one moment and then the next on, ..whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things, …”, yes those ones….

So recently, I was driving and at a junction and decided to give way to the another motorist entering the junction. The vehicle had slightly tinted windows and ‘was keen on seeing the driver in the car so looked closer as the vehicle passed.

Here I was ready with a smile , only to receive back a ‘sura ya kazi’, some kind of ‘stone face’. I relaxed my smile and moved on, but kept thinking what could have been in the mind of that driver. “What was he going through?”

Well, whatever you are going through my friend today, relax, there’s a God who cares…

I hope this clip will make you smile:

Love,
PM

