Lets-write-something-writing-4545938-1024-768For I will not dare to speak of any of those things which Christ hath not wrought by me, to make the Gentiles obedient, by word and deed, …(Rom15:18)

There are many motivations for writing, and I have slowly as I have continued to write appreciated that not all motives are selfless.

In our last meeting of the local church, the conversation somehow went to discussing the scripture:
….Why could not we cast him (the devil) out?….Because of your unbelief:…Howbeit this kind (of unbelief) goeth not out but by prayer and fasting. “.(Matt 17)
Further the conversation went on towards, “what to fast?..” and that is how we ended up discussing use of social media. This we acknowledged as one of the highest ranking time consumer and soul informer of our time. I use social media, and I acknowledge it as a great tool if utilized as a tool and not an end in itself. I have however had to apply some considerable level of discipline to ensure that my drive in having participation in social media is not pressure to be ‘with it’.

As I have taken this conversation further in my meditations, I remembered something I recently read from a course I’ve been going through, ‘Embrace the cross‘ by Chip Brogden (I’d recommend this course any time). In discussing the centrality of Christ, Chip gives examples of things that can be a distraction from focusing on Christ, and interestingly, he includes writing. I think the reason why writing stood out for me is because there are times I’ve felt the pressure to write something either here or in twitter, even when I do not have anything specific to write on. These are the times I’ve considered writing things I’ve read from somewhere (nothing particularly wrong with this) , but over time I’ve resolved, “not to write , anything that the Lord has not wrought through me“. Reblog or link, yes, but not cut and paste.

I believe that each of us has a uniqueness of experience in life and their individual walk with the Lord that when shared with others, does it’s part in building the body up towards full stature.

The flip side is not to fear to express that which the Lord has wrought through you for:

….the whole body fitly joined together and compacted by that which every joint supplieth, according to the effectual working in the measure of every part, maketh increase of the body unto the edifying of itself in love.Eph 4:16

