IMG_3687Last weekend in the Sunday newspaper, there was an article in the relationship section titled, “The man every woman desired”. It is not my typical subject of interest, but somehow, I found myself reading it. I was expecting that I’d read the normal description of eligible bachelors: TDH (tall, dark, handsome) , rich, financially independent stuff and was ready to put it aside after the introductory paragraph. This was not to be and I found myself reading through the whole article.

In describing the kind of man most women desired, the article outlined a description, part excerpted below;

“…He really does have morals, and he follows them. like he would never con someone, or have sex with a girl whose too drunk to resist. And he applies those beliefs equally to himself and to others….and he keeps his promises; both big, “I’ll be faithful”, and small, “I’ll be there at eight”, no matter what. ….He never owes anyone anything and helps those in need – but not if they could help themselves. Hard working, but also very clear about his priorities in life: he always puts his family and loved ones first…..”

By the end of the article I was asking myself, “such a man where can he be found?” the more I thought about it, the more it occurred to me how a lot of the descriptions shadowed the qualities of Christ and how when revealed to the Church, He becomes the object of her passion.

Christ our life, wisdom, righteousness, sanctification, redemption, peace….. all and in all – simply irresistible.

