Pregnant_Woman_with_Child_HBefore you judge me inappropriate, please hear me out. The title of this post is a word for word question we were asked recently by our five year old son. It was in the morning as we had breakfast. The immediate reaction was quiet at the table and then the kind of look between my wife and I that says, “you answer that one”. I cannot exactly remember who the question was directed to, but there is an unwritten rule that Daddy answers the tough ones. I know you, the reader would like to hear how I answered the question, but I will have to disappoint you for two reasons; 1. I can’t remember which means I probably said something just to evade answering or divert the topic, and 2. Even if I could remember, I don’t think my answer could be applied universally. The correctness is more on how it is delivered based on the relationship the parent has with their child and less the content of the answer as this is obvious to any parent.

Lesson:

And said, Verily I say unto you, Except ye be converted, and become as little children, ye shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven.(Matt 18)

As I revisited this experience and many other questions I regularly have to face from my children, the above scripture came to mind. I have always thought of its application when it comes to innocence, but I have now come to look at it with another characteristic of children in mind.

A child will ask any question that comes to mind anywhere anytime, but not so with most adults. Adults will normally consider the environment, appropriateness, and what people around will think before they ask. Could it be that this is a characteristic of children that would do us good to imbibe in relating with our Father?

I am sure the attitude of children when asking questions is not one of challenging the parent’s knowledge, but rather inquisition for understanding life as part of growth. Similarly, we ought to be free to ask Father the questions we have about life even when they are things in the bible and our experience that seem contradictory to each other. I believe questioning with the right attitude is more of an acknowledgement of my ignorance in light of His omniscience (all knowing). Here are some interesting questions I and others have been asking at some point:

1. Why do people sit in church like they are in a bus? (I heard this one just this week)

2. Why do we do selective application of the old covenant requirements?

3. Do I need to get baptized in water to be saved?

4. What comes first in our relationship with God, being or doing?

5….

Do you have questions concerning life and godliness?

Fear not:

…. for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom. (Luke 12:32)

…. as his divine power hath given unto us all things that pertain unto life and godliness, through the knowledge of him that hath called us to glory and virtue:   (2 Peter 1:3)

Ask Father:

…, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you: (Matthew 7:7)

…. let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him.(James 1:5)

Enjoy asking and receiving from Father. I’d also love to hear your questions and any answers you’ve received from Him.

Love,

PM

