It has been relatively quiet in here this last week. Some things have been my preoccupation and would like to share some bit:

1. Dynamics in the local body.

We have had some things happening (some good, some not so good) within the local body of believers I am a part of in Nairobi. Having no much experience in walking this path, concerning these, I have been seeking answers both from the temple within (a term I heard here), and reading from experiences of other believers who shared their experiences in body life. One particular one I really liked is by Milt Rodriguez where he writes about Being brothers and sisters which you can have a look at here. I found the experiences really profound and I hope you will too.

2. The gospel.

Romans 1:16

For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek.
1 Cor 2:4-5
and my speech and my message were not in plausible words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, so that your faith might not rest in the wisdom of men[a] but in the power of God.

With the above scriptures (among others) in mind I have sought to know what the gospel really is. If it is the power of God unto salvation, then what we need to live victoriously infectious lives is to have a grasp of it in it’s purest form. taking the thoughts from my last post on why the presentation of the gospel message has often been less than convincing, I think it needs to be presented for what it truly is, a gospel of love and grace. I found quite a good illustration of that presentation in one quote here by grace quotes. I hope it unveils as profoundly the love of the Price bridegroom as it did me.

3. An interesting book

This last week I read a book by Isaac Mwangi. I had not heard of Isaac before and being a Kenyan I was really keen to read what the Lord is revealing through His body in Kenya. Mwangi raises some interesting perspective that challenges some practices that most people (including myself) have taken as a granted from traditions. One thought that has lingered in my mind since and when reading the book has been, “What does baptized into Jesus Christ ( Rom 6:3 ) really mean?” I hope I can do some review of the book sometime. In the meantime you might be interested in checking it out here – I’d also like to hear what you think.

To a Christ focused weekend,

PM

