There is a likelihood of being misunderstood in this post, so I will strive to ensure that what is in my heart and mind is what I communicate. As I was commuting to work this morning, I was thinking about marriage and the place we sometimes give it. this thought came to mind, “Could we have elevated it too highly than we ought to?”

There is a key place without a doubt marriage and family takes in holding society together, but I have come to think that there is a higher reality that holds things together including society.

I have long wondered why scripture records that those that are unmarried are better off remaining as they are (1Cor 7). Paul the writer of the book does say that some are his own thoughts, but he also says he has the Spirit of God (V 48b). Why would he say that? It is also good to note that both Jesus and Paul did not get married and yet they had lot’s of advise on marriage and family, some very unconventional.

In my thinking, I have concluded that like many things and God ordained institutions in our natural life experience, marriage is a shadow of   some higher realities that Paul writes about in Eph 5:31-32;

31 For this cause shall a man leave his father and mother, and shall be joined unto his wife, and they two shall be one flesh. 32 This is a great mystery: but I speak concerning Christ and the church.33 Nevertheless let every one of you in particular so love his wife even as himself; and the wife see that she reverence her husband.

I think we err when we make the reality serve the shadow instead of the shadow serving as a pointer to the real. The real deal is Christ as the bridegroom, and the church as His bride.

As we keep focus on Jesus Christ (the author and the finisher of our faith), the shadow will more closely resemble the real.

What do you think, my friend?

