As highlighted in a previous post, when one has embarked on life beyond the walls, there are times one will feel like they are alone, or the only ones on the path. It feels like that more so at the beginning of the walk where the relationship with the Lord becomes more important than the rituals and practices that characterize institutional religion. In my own experience however, I realise that as the relationship grows, the Lord Himself starts connecting me with others on the same journey of knowing Him albeit on their own path. When you meet such people, it feels like you’ve known them for years, maybe not just haven’t met. Why is this? It is because the same Life, Christ indwells you and them, thus you are family. I have had the privelege of this experience in the last year at two distinct times:

The first one was a couple I was introduced to through the internet. When we met at some restaurant (the kind you have nyama choma and some drink ) some place along Elgon rd, we were parting around midnight because we couldn’t seem to stop sharing. As we shared our stories, it was like too similar to be true, but it was. It was really refreshing to hear how God was revealing His Son in each of us independently and how that became like manna to each of us. That to me was the first step towards being freed from the feeling I might have missed the path by leaving organized religion. God had assured me that He’s the one that would build His community, but I had not started seeing it happen. The connection that day was real and has continued to supply to the building of the body in love.

The next major incidence took place some three weeks ago when my music teacher invited me to some informal group meeting in another part of town along outering road. I was a bit hesitant at first because it sounded at first like a formal gathering which I have become shy of. when he assured me it was informal, I accepted and went with my family. There were some bit of anxious moments at the beginning , but we decided to get to know one another. The introductions took a bit of a new way to me which was in the form of questions. Each one was supposed to answer the following 3 questions after which everybody was free to ask further questions related to the answers given.

1. Are you born again?

2. How did you get born again?

3. How do you know you are born again?

I have to admit that when I was being questioned , I felt a bit agitated because at first the questions sounded rhetorical. I remember at one point I was asked, “are you sanctified or you will be sanctified?” and I thought that was just semantics and I said as much. The scripture that says, …the end of a thing is better than the begining thereof, (  Ecclesiastes 7:8 ) became a reality for as the meeting progressed,  the heart of love with which the questions were asked became evident. It became obvious that the motive was to establish within oneself what each really believes. Are we not admonished to be ready always to give an answer to every man that asks reason of the hope that is in us with meekness and fear…? ( 1 Peter 3:15 )

It was a beautiful view of Christ enlarged in my eyes as I listened to how each one in the gathering  has a unique view of the Christ that indwells them and how each has come to attribute their salvation to Christ alone through His finished work of the cross.

It is beautiful and awesome to behold Christ revealed through His many member-ed body. May our view of Him be continually enlarged as we behold Him. He says, “I will build My Church, and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.” (Matt 16:18). It is Him who is building His Church.

