A couple of weeks ago when Pete was in NPC, Valley road, I was at one of the meetings where during one of the breaks, I was having a chat with a friend who was in attendance. In the course of our time together, he said to me, “Tell me about organic church”. I am not sure why he asked me, but I did attempt to answer it.

Organic Church is a term I have only come to hear of in the last two years, so I cannot claim to be an authority. I however can explain my understanding: From a basic understanding of the two words that make the phrase, “Organic” is from organism or living entity, and “Church” in it’s truest meaning is the “body of Christ”. Combining the meaning of the two words, then would make “Organic Church” to mean the “Living body of Christ”. (Mark 12:27)

I have also found some more detailed discussion on the term from one who has been using it since 1993 here.

My friend JK, if you are reading this, I’d like to hear from you. What do you think?

