Tags

, ,

Photo by Victor Maina

“Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” (Heb 13:5)

“For He says: “In an acceptable time I have heard you, And in the day of salvation I have helped you.” Behold, now is the accepted time; behold, now is the day of salvation.” (2Cor 6:2)

Have you ever been under much pressure to make a decision on something where you are not sure and then felt relief when the urgency is removed, maybe a deadline has been shifted to a later date? Not that you have resolved the issue, but just the fact that you do not have to make a decision that moment makes for a feeling of relief? I have been, more than once and comforted myself that by the time the new date comes I will have made the decision, or gotten a solution.

I was in such a place three weeks ago, but it was unfortunate that the relief was not out of confidence that God is in charge, but rather that I had some time to get a solution. My wife had just gotten a baby which was a source of great joy to the Maina family and friends. There was on another hand a part of the story that was hidden to many and that was the hospital bill which was way beyond what we had capacity to settle. Initially, I got frantic thinking what I was to do, and I even made a call to one friend against my decision earlier to never tell any human being my needs unless led by God to do so.

True to the word, the person could not help me and that is when I realized I had not talked to God about it. The situation looked impossible, but then, “Is there anything impossible with God?” Somehow I started reminding myself that the Lord is aware of the situation and there is nothing too difficult for Him. I cannot dare take any credit for what happened later in the day as I believe God orchestrated it all, for all the while I was fretting, He knew my need and had a way to meet it using someone I could not have thought of even if I was to seek for a solution.

It happened in the evening as I bowed my knee crying out to God. As I started to pray, I was not sure how to pray and I made it as clear in my conversation with Father. Before going too far, I heard a text message on my phone, and there was the solution to my issue. I did not respond to the individual immediately as I was not certain there was no mistake, but true to the word, the issue was sorted that night through that text message.

Beloved, our God is faithful, and is dependable – He can be trusted with our lives, and no one that puts their trust in Him shall be ashamed. His seeming quietness in our time of great need is not an indicator of His absence, rather an opportunity for us to exercise ourselves in absolute trust in His manifold wisdom.

The question becomes, “will I bow to the demands of the systems of this world when under pressure, or will we draw from God’s abundant grace, and like the Hebrew boys say, ”

“O Nebuchadnezzar, we have no need to answer you in this matter. 17 If that is the case, our God whom we serve is able to deliver us from the burning fiery furnace, and He will deliver us from your hand, O king. 18 But if not, let it be known to you, O king, that we do not serve your gods, nor will we worship the gold image which you have set up.”(Dan 3.)”

It is a we stand for the testimony of Jesus Christ that the He will be manifested to the world;

25 “Look!” he answered, “I see four men loose, walking in the midst of the fire; and they are not hurt, and the form of the fourth is like the Son of God.”[a]”

Dear friend, I hope you can in the midst of these words I share glimpse what I am trying to communicate, that God is not just in the past, or in the future, but also in the present. He has made Himself known to us as the present God, the great I AM.